Web Mapping Services

The Interactive Maps and Web Mapping Services Web Site provides layers and data from several different sources by following the Government of Canada Standards on GeoSpatial Data.

Service Based Delivery

This site provides layers and data through a Service Oriented Architecture (SOA). Most services are provided over the internet and allow communication with any device able to interpret the Application Programming Interface (API). SOA allows for real-time interoperability and access to data with many different devices.

More often than not, you will not need to familiarize yourself with how the services communicate with your device or application. Instead, simply familiarize yourself with what each service provides and how you can connect your device or application. See the section on Supported Interfaces for detailed descriptions of the different services provided.

Note on Service Reliability

It should be noted that, although we strive to provide reliable service, we cannot guarantee the services will always be available or up-to-date. Please contact CHS-ProdService@DFO-MPO.GC.CA if you experience any problems with the web services provided on this website.

Supported Interfaces

Not all interfaces are available for each map. Some interfaces will provide more functionality than others. It is important to understand the limitations for each interface.

Description of Supported Interfaces
Interface Description Official Documentation
Web Mapping Service (WMS) A WMS allows clients to retrieve images with a geographic component through a Uniform Resource Locator (URL). The WMS conforms to the OpenGIS Web Map Server Interface specification and the Government Of Canada's Standard on Geospatial Data. A WMS service only provides clients with images and does not provide source or vector data.

How to use WMS

Most GIS applications will allow you to add a WMS layer to your view. Often, when you choose to add a WMS layer, your application will prompt you to provide a URL. In this case, you would provide the URL indicated in a Map's profile page. Check your application's documentation to see if it is possible to use a WMS layer. Note that WMS provides clients with an image, however it cannot be spatially analyzed.

Open Geospatial Consortium
Web Feature Service (WFS)

A WFS allows clients to retrieve geographic feature information, allowing for querying, analyzing, and transforming data. The WFS is richer in information than the image-only WMS, providing feature data that can be thought of as source data. A WFS interface may not be available for some services due to the fact that its large datasets may be too large to provide over the internet.

How to use WFS

Most GIS applications will allow you to add a WFS layer to your view, or transform a WFS to a native format. Often, when you choose to add a WFS layer, your application will prompt you to provide a URL. In this case, you would provide the URL indicated in a Map's profile page. Check your application's documentation to see if it is possible to use a WFS layer.

Open Geospatial Consortium
JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) is a text-based open standard designed for human-readable data interchange. JSON Documentation
KML

KML is an XML language focused on geographic visualization, including annotation of maps and images.

How to get a KML file

The KML interface link available from a map profile will forward you to a page that guides you on generating a KML file. Also note: The KML file generates the proper linkages to communicate with our mapping server; however, it does not contain source data. Performance will be dependent on how your application chooses to communicate with our server.

Open Geospatial Consortium

Help and Contact Information

If you have any questions about the GeoPortal or difficulties operating any of the maps, please contact CHS-ProdService@DFO-MPO.GC.CA.

Services de cartographie web

Le site Web de cartes interactives et services de cartes électroniques offre des couches et des données qui proviennent de diverses sources en respectant la Norme du gouvernement du Canada sur les données géospatiales.

Prestation axée sur le service

Ce site offre des couches et des données à l'aide d'une architecture axée sur le service. La plupart des services sont offerts en ligne et sont accessibles à partir de tout appareil pouvant interpréter l'interface de programmation d'applications. L'architecture permet un accès aux données et une interopérabilité en temps réel à partir de divers appareils.

Dans la plupart des cas, vous n'aurez pas à vous familiariser avec la façon dont les services communiquent avec votre appareil ou votre application. Vous aurez plutôt à vous familiariser avec ce que chacun des services peut offrir et la façon dont vous pouvez connecter votre appareil ou votre application. Consultez la section Interfaces prises en charge pour obtenir des descriptions plus détaillées des différents services offerts.

Remarque sur la fiabilité des services

Veuillez noter que, bien que nous fassions tout en notre pouvoir pour offrir des services fiables, il nous est impossible de garantir que les services seront toujours disponibles ou à jour. Veuillez communiquer avec CHS-ProdService@DFO-MPO.GC.CA si vous éprouvez des difficultés avec les services offerts sur ce site Web.

Interfaces prises en charge

Les interfaces ne sont pas toutes disponibles pour chacune des cartes. Certaines interfaces offriront davantage de fonctions que d'autres. Il est donc important de comprendre les limites de chaque interface.

Description des Interfaces prises en charge
Interface Description Document officiel
Service(s) de cartographie web (WMS)

Un WMS permet aux clients de récupérer des images avec une composante géographique à l'aide d'une adresse URL. Le WMS est conforme aux spécifications de l'interface du serveur de cartes Web OpenGIS et à la Norme du gouvernement du Canada sur les données géospatiales. Un service WMS n'offre aux clients que des images sans source ni donnée vectorielle.

Comment utiliser WMS

La plupart des applications de SIG vous permettront d'ajouter une couche WMS à l'écran. Souvent, lorsque vous choisissez d'ajouter une couche WMS, votre application vous invitera à saisir une adresse URL. Dans ce cas, vous devez saisir l'adresse URL du WMS indiquée dans la page profil d'une carte. Consultez les documents au sujet de votre application pour déterminer s'il est possible d'utiliser une couche WMS. Veuillez noter qu'un WMS n'offre au client qu'une image.

Open Geospatial Consortium
Service d'entités Web (WFS)

Un WFS offre aux clients la possibilité de récupérer de l'information géographique en leur permettant de demander, d'analyser et de transformer des données. Le WFS contient davantage d'information qu'une simple image fournie par WMS puisqu'il offre des données pouvant être traitées comme des données sources. Une interface WFS peut ne pas être disponible pour certains services en raison de la taille importante de ses ensembles de données qui pourraient être difficiles à transmettre en ligne.

Comment utiliser WFS

La plupart des applications de SIG vous permettront d'ajouter une couche WFS à l'écran ou de rendre un WFS en format narratif. Souvent, lorsque vous choisissez d'ajouter une couche WFS, votre application vous invitera à saisir une adresse URL. Dans ce cas, vous devez saisir l'adresse URL indiquée dans la page profil d'une carte. Consultez les documents au sujet de votre application pour déterminer s'il est possible d'utiliser une couche WFS.

Open Geospatial Consortium
JavaScript Object Notation (JSON)

JSON (JavaScript Object Notation) est un standard ouvert basé sur du texte conçu pour l'échange de données lisible.

JSON Documentation
KML

KML est un langage XML qui se concentre sur la visualisation géographique, y compris l'annotation de cartes et d'images.

Comment obtenir un fichier KML

Le lien vers l'interface KML à partir d'un profil de carte vous mènera à une page qui vous montrera comment générer un fichier KML.

Veuillez noter qu'un fichier KML génère les liens nécessaires pour communiquer avec notre serveur cartographique. Toutefois, il ne contient pas de données sources. Le rendement dépendra de la façon dont votre application choisit de communiquer avec notre serveur.

Open Geospatial Consortium

Aide et coordonnées

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du GéoPortail ou si vous éprouvez des difficultés à utiliser une carte, veuillez communiquer avec CHS-ProdService@DFO-MPO.GC.CA.