Arctic Voyage Planning Guide

A compilation of data and services relevant to mariners travelling in the Arctic region of Canada. The AVPG is not intended to replace official carriage information or products provided from Canadian sources. In case of disparity, the information contained in official publications will prevail. The mariners remain responsible for navigational decisions and safety of their ships. The information provided in this guide should be used together with all other relevant information, as required by law, standards and good seamanship practices.

(last modified: 2013/07/11)

Description

The Arctic Voyage Planning Guide (AVPG) is intended as a strategic planning tool for national and international vessels traveling in the Canadian Arctic. It draws together regulatory information pursuant to the Canada Shipping Act, 2001 and the Charts and Nautical Publications Regulations, 1995 as well as complementary data and information from Canadian federal departments with mandates to support safe navigation. The intent of the AVPG is to provide a comprehensive digital planning tool for mariners considering an Arctic voyage.

The mariners remain responsible for navigational decisions and safety of their ships. The information provided in this guide should be used together with all other relevant information, as required by law, standards and good seamanship practices.

The AVPG is not intended to replace official carriage information or products provided from Canadian sources. This AVPG digital version will be maintained with Notices to Mariners as needed but in case of disparity, the information contained in official publications will prevail.

Carriage Requirements

Nautical Charts

The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) publishes almost 1,000 paper charts, which are described in a series of four free chart catalogues for the Pacific Coast, Central Canada, Atlantic Coast and the Arctic. These catalogues are available from CHS chart dealers, or you can contact CHS directly for a free catalogue. Although CHS does not sell charts directly to the public, we distribute to over 800 dealers across Canada and around the world.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/charts-cartes/index-eng.asp

At present, less than 10% of Arctic waters are surveyed to modern standards. In addition, the mariner must be aware of the horizontal datum used for the chart. GPS positions can only be plotted directly on NAD 83 (equivalent to WGS 84) charts. For charts with other datums, the appropriate correction must be applied. Some Arctic charts do not have a reference datum and therefore no available corrections. In such cases, alternative sources of positional information should be used such as radar and visual lines of position when possible. It is always recommended that more than one means be used to fix a position.

As always, mariners must use up-to-date nautical charts and nautical publications to plan each voyage. This includes making use of annual and monthly Notices to Mariners and northern Canada Sailing Directions. Of particular note, given the challenges in Canada’s northern waters of charting, confirming chart anomalies, and servicing aids to navigation, mariners must ensure that all Notices to Shipping (broadcast and written) and NAVAREA warnings that are in force in the area are taken into account.

http://www.notmar.gc.ca/eng/services/annual/section-a/notice-7a.pdf

Sailing Directions

Sailing Directions are the indispensable companions to charts. A great tool for planning and assisting in navigation, Sailing Directions provide information beyond that which can be shown on a chart.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/publications/sd-in/sd-in-eng.asp

Tide and Current Tables

The Tides, Currents, and Water Levels publication provides predicted times and heights of high and low waters, and the hourly water levels for over seven hundred stations in Canada. The printed version is published yearly and is available through the authorized chart dealers.

http://www.tides.gc.ca

List of Lights, Buoys and Fog Signals

Provides key information about Canadian Coast Guard approved and managed lights, buoys and fog signals, including position, characteristics, height and reference charts.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/publications/lbfs-lfbsb-eng.asp

Radio Aids to Marine Navigation (RAMN)

The main purpose of RAMN is to present information on radio communications and radio navigational aids services provided in Canada by the Canadian Coast Guard. Radio facilities of other government agencies that contribute to the safety of ships in Canadian waters are also included.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/Marine-Communications/Radio-Aids

Ice Navigation in Canadian Waters

Ice Navigation in Canadian Waters published by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Canadian Coast Guard, provides important information to ships operating in ice in all Canadian waters, including the Arctic. This document provides Masters and watchkeeping crew of vessels transiting Canadian ice-covered waters with the necessary information to achieve an understanding of the hazards, navigation techniques, and response of the vessel.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/Ice_home/Ice_Publications/Ice-Navigation-in-Canadian-Waters

Annual Notice to Mariners (NOTMAR)

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) Notices to Mariners (NOTMAR) publication provides mariners the necessary information to update charts and nautical publications. It advises mariners of new initiatives, services and also important announcements concerning the maritime community.

http://www.notmar.gc.ca

Notices to Shipping (NOTSHIP)

The Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) issues Notices to Shipping (NOTSHIP) to inform mariners about hazards to navigation and to share other important information.

NOTSHIP alerts are broadcast by radio by Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS). Written NOTSHIP alerts are issued when the location of the hazard is beyond broadcast range, or when the information remains in effect for an extended period of time.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/eng/ccg/notship

Legislation and Regulations

Acts and Regulations

The Canada Shipping Act (CSA) 2001 is Canada's principal legislation for shipping. It applies in all Canadian waters, including the Arctic. The Marine Liability Act (MLA) makes the owners and/or operators of vessels responsible and liable for their vessels and the consequences of its operations. The Marine Transportation Security Act (MTSA) provides for the security of marine transportation. It applies to ships and marine facilities in Canada, and to Canadian ships outside of Canada. The Navigable Waters Protection Act (NWPA) protects navigation from being impeded or made more dangerous, and it regulates ferry cables and draw bridges.

http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/marinesafety/debs-arctic-acts-regulations-menu-2272.htm

Northern Canada Vessel Traffic Service Zone (NORDREG)

The Northern Canada Vessel Traffic Services Zone Regulations formally establish the Northern Canada Vessel Traffic Services (NORDREG) Zone and, consistent with international law regarding ice-covered areas, implement the requirements for vessels to report information prior to entering, while operating within and upon exiting Canada’s northern waters.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/eng/MCTS/Vtr_Arctic_Canada

Arctic Shipping Pollution Prevention Regulations

Navigation in coastal waters within Canadian jurisdiction north of latitude 60°N is governed by the Arctic Shipping Pollution Prevention Regulations (ASPPR), under the Arctic Waters Pollution Prevention Act. The ASPPR deal with the construction of ships (certain construction requirements for different navigation zones); bunkering stations; Arctic Pollution Prevention Certificates; Ice Navigator issues (any vessel planning to use the Arctic Ice Regime Shipping System and every tanker must have a qualified Ice Navigator on board); fuel and water concerns (enough of both on board before entering a zone); sewage deposit and oil deposit mishaps (unavoidable deposit only, that is, to save a life; or from damage to a ship from stranding, collision, or foundering if all reasonable precautions were taken).

http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/marinesafety/debs-arctic-acts-regulations-asppr-421.htm

IMO Guidelines for Ships Operating in Polar Waters

Ice poses serious danger to ships. The International Maritime Organization (IMO) Guidelines seek to minimize incidents and to prevent loss of life and property during ship operations in ice-covered waters.

http://www.tc.gc.ca/eng/marinesafety/debs-arctic-shipping-operations-imo-2208.htm

Access and Constraints

The depicted vessel traffic pattern is not intended to show recommended or safest routes. It is only a representation of the routes that have been most used by the vessels that reported in 2010 to the Canadian Coast Guard Marine Communications and Traffic Services (NORDREG).

Fisheries and Oceans Canada acknowledges the valuable contribution of information and data from the Canadian Coast Guard, the Canadian Hydrographic Service, Transport Canada, Environment Canada and GeoGratis © Department of Natural Resources Canada. The AVPG is not intended to replace official carriage information or products provided from Canadian sources. In case of disparity, the information contained in official publications will prevail.

Layers and Data

This map is composed from the following services. Availability of layers and data is constrained to the supported interfaces available. Please refer to our Web Map Services page to learn more on how to use the supported interfaces.
Service Name Supported Interfaces help
Arctic_Voyage_Planning_Guide_ENG WMS WFS JSON KML

For help regarding this webpage, please contact isdm-gdsi@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.

Guide de planification de navigation en Arctique

Compilation de données et de services destinés aux navigateurs se déplaçant dans la région arctique du Canada. Le GPNA ne se substitue en aucun cas aux informations ou produits soumis à l’obligation d’emport et fournis par des sources canadiennes. En cas de disparité, ce seront les informations mentionnées dans les publications officielles qui prévaudront. Les navigateurs sont seuls responsables des décisions qu'ils prennent en matière de navigation et de sécurité de leur navire. L’information offerte dans ce guide devrait être utilisée conjointement avec toute autre information pertinente, conformément aux lois, normes et bons usages maritimes.

 Contactez-nous: info@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

(Dernière modification : 2016-03-14)

Description

Le but du Guide de planification de navigation en Arctique (GPNA) est d’offrir un outil de planification stratégique aux bâtiments nationaux et internationaux qui naviguent dans l'Arctique canadien. Il rassemble des informations réglementantes contenues dans la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada et du Règlement sur les cartes marines et publications nautiques (1995),ainsi que des données et des informations provenant de divers ministères fédéraux canadiens dont la mission est d’offrir un soutien favorisant une navigation sécuritaire. Le but du GPNA est d’offrir un outil numérique complet aux navigateurs qui prévoient d’appareiller pour l’Arctique.

Les navigateurs sont seuls responsables des décisions qu'ils prennent en matière de navigation et de sécurité de leur navire. L’information offerte dans ce guide devrait être utilisée conjointement avec toute autre information pertinente, conformément aux lois, normes et bons usages maritimes.

Le GPNA ne se substitue en aucun cas aux informations ou produits soumis à l’obligation d’emport et fournis par des sources canadiennes. Le GPNA numérique sera actualisé au moyen des Avis aux navigateurs selon les besoins, mais en cas de disparité, ce seront les informations mentionnées dans les publications officielles qui prévaudront.

Obligation d’emport

Cartes marines

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) publie près de 1 000 cartes marines sous format papier. Les cartes sont décrites dans une série de quatre catalogues gratuits couvrant la côte du Pacifique, le centre du Canada, la côte de l’Atlantique et l’Arctique. Ces catalogues sont offerts chez les dépositaires de cartes marines du SHC. Vous pouvez aussi vous les procurer directement auprès du SHC en communiquant avec le Service. Le SHC ne vend pas de publications directement au public, mais il les distribue par l’entremise d’un réseau de plus de 800 dépositaires répartis au travers du Canada et dans le monde entier.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/charts-cartes/index-fra.asp

À l’heure actuelle, moins de 10 % des eaux de l’Arctique ont fait l’objet d’études en fonction des normes modernes. De plus, le navigateur doit être au courant des données horizontales utilisées dans les cartes. Les positions GPS peuvent uniquement être représentées graphiquement directement sur des cartes du NAD 83 (équivalentes à celles du WGS 84). Pour ce qui est des cartes utilisant d’autres données, les corrections appropriées doivent être apportées. Certaines cartes de l’Arctique n’ont pas de données de référence et donc aucune correction disponible. Dans ces cas, d’autres sources d’information sur la position devraient être utilisées, comme le radar et les lignes de position visuelles, lorsque cela est possible. Il est toujours recommandé d’utiliser plus d’un moyen pour déterminer la position.

Comme toujours, les navigateurs doivent utiliser des cartes nautiques et des publications nautiques à jour pour planifier chaque voyage. Cela comprend l’utilisation des Avis aux navigateurs annuels et mensuels et les Instructions nautiques pour le Nord du Canada. Soulignons tout particulièrement qu’étant donné les défis présentés par la cartographie, la confirmation des anomalies dans les cartes et l’entretien des aides à la navigation dans les eaux du Nord canadien, les navigateurs doivent s’assurer de tenir compte de tous les Avis à la navigation (radiodiffusés et écrits) et de tous les avertissements des NAVAREA en vigueur dans la région.

http://www.notmar.gc.ca/fra/services/annuel/partie-a/avis-7a.pdf

Instructions nautiques

Les Instructions nautiques sont les compléments indispensables aux cartes marines et d'excellents outils de planification et d'aide à la navigation. Elles fournissent des informations qui ne peuvent être portées sur les cartes marines.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/publications/sd-in/sd-in-fra.asp

Marées, courants et niveaux d'eau

La publication Marées, courants et niveaux d'eau prédit les heures et les hauteurs des pleines et des basses mers, ainsi que les niveaux d'eau horaires des plus de sept cents stations au Canada. La version imprimée est publiée annuellement et est disponible auprès des dépositaires de cartes marines autorisés.

http://www.tides.gc.ca/fra

Livre des feux, bouées et signaux de brume

Vous y trouverez des informations importantes sur les feux, bouées et signaux de brume approuvés et gérés par la Garde côtière canadienne, dont leur position, leurs caractéristiques et leur hauteur, ainsi que les cartes marines de référence.

http://www.charts.gc.ca/publications/lbfs-lfbsb-fra.asp

Aides radio à la navigation maritime (ARNM)

ARNM présente des renseignements sur les services de radiocommunication et d’aides radio à la navigation, assurés au Canada par la Garde côtière canadienne, ainsi que sur les installations radio des autres organismes gouvernementaux qui contribuent à assurer la sécurité des navires dans les eaux canadiennes.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/Communications-Marines/Accueil

Navigation dans les glaces en eaux canadiennes

Le manuel Navigation dans les glaces en eaux canadiennes vise à aider les navires opérant dans les glaces de toutes les eaux canadiennes, y compris celles de l'Arctique. Les capitaines et équipages de quart des navires transitant dans les eaux couvertes de glaces au Canada y trouveront l'information nécessaire pour comprendre les lois et règlements, les services d'aide à la navigation, les dangers et les techniques de navigation.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/Glace_accueil/Glace_publications/Navigation-dans-les-glaces-en-eaux-canadiennes

Avis aux navigateurs (NOTMAR)

L’Édition annuelle des Avis aux navigateurs (NOTMAR) publiée par la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), donne les informations nécessaires pour permettre aux navigateurs d'actualiser leurs cartes marines et publications nautiques. Il informera les navigateurs des nouvelles initiatives, services et aussi des annonces importantes concernant la communauté maritime.

http://www.notmar.gc.ca/

Avis à la navigation (AVNAV)

La Garde côtière canadienne diffuse les Avis à la navigation (AVNAV) pour informer les navigateurs sur les dangers et pour leur communiquer toute autre information importante.

Les Avis à la navigation sont diffusés par radio par les Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM). Des avis écrits sont publiés lorsque le danger est situé en dehors du rayon de diffusion radio ou lorsque l’avis reste en vigueur pour une durée prolongée.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/fra/GCC/Notship

 

Législation et règlements

Lois et règlements

La Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada (LMMC 2001) est la principale loi canadienne réglementant la navigation. Elle s’applique à toutes les eaux canadiennes, y compris les eaux de l’Arctique. La Loi sur la responsabilité en matière maritime (LRMM) rend les armateurs, ou les exploitants, responsables de leur bâtiment et des conséquences de leurs activités. La Loi sur la sûreté du transport maritime (LSTM) assure la sûreté du transport maritime. Elle s’applique aux bâtiments et aux installations maritimes au Canada et aux bâtiments canadiens exploités hors du Canada. La Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables (LPEN) protège la navigation contre les obstacles ou les dangers plus graves et réglemente les transbordeurs à câble et les ponts-levis.

http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/securitemaritime/desn-arctique-lois-reglements-menu-2272.htm

Zone de trafic de l'Arctique canadien (NORDREG)

Le Règlement sur la zone de services de trafic maritime du Nord canadien établit de façon formelle la zone de service de trafic maritime du Nord canadien (NORDREG) et, en accord avec la loi internationale régissant les zones recouvertes par les glaces, met en application les exigences de rapport d’information par les navires avant d’entrer, pendant qu’ils opèrent à l’intérieur et lorsqu’ils quittent les eaux du Nord canadien.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/fra/SCTM/Zt_arctique_canadien

Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques par les navires (RPPEAN)

La navigation dans les eaux côtières, de compétence canadienne et au Nord du 60e degré de latitude Nord, est réglementée par le Règlement sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques par les navires (RPPEAN) en vertu de la Loi sur la prévention de la pollution des eaux arctiques. Le RPPEAN traite des éléments suivants : la construction des bâtiments (certaines exigences en matière de construction pour différentes zones de navigation); les postes de soutage; les certificats de prévention de la pollution dans l’Arctique; les questions relatives aux officiers de navigation dans les glaces (tout bâtiment prévoyant utiliser le Système des régimes de glaces pour la navigation dans l’Arctique et chaque navire-citerne doit compter un officier de navigation dans les glaces à son bord); les questions de carburant et d’eau (présence de carburant et d’eau en quantités suffisantes avant d’entrer dans une zone); et les incidents de dépôt d’eaux usées et de carburant (dépôt inévitable seulement, c.-à-d.pour sauver une vie ou pour éviter des dommages au bâtiment causés par un échouement, un abordage ou un naufrage si toutes les précautions ont été prises).

http://www.tc.gc.ca/fra/securitemaritime/desn-arctique-lois-reglements-rppean-421.htm

Directives de l’OMI pour les navires opérés dans les eaux polaires

Les glaces représentent un grave danger pour les navires. Les lignes directrices de l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) visent à réduire les incidents et à prévenir les pertes de vie et de biens lors de la navigation dans les eaux couvertes de glace.

http://www.ccg-gcc.gc.ca/Deglacage/Navigation-dans-les-glaces-en-eaux-canadiennes

Accès et restrictions

L’illustration du trafic maritime n'a pas pour but d'indiquer les routes recommandées ou les plus sécuritaires. Il ne s’agit que de la représentation des routes les plus fréquemment utilisées par les navires qui se sont signalés aux Services de communications et de trafic maritime de la Garde côtière canadienne (NORDREG) en 2010.

Pêches et Océans Canada reconnaît la valeur inestimable des informations et des données fournies par la Garde côtière canadienne, le Service hydrographique du Canada, Transports Canada, Environnement Canada et GeoGratis © Ressources naturelles Canada. Le GPNA ne se substitue en aucun cas aux informations ou produits soumis à l’obligation d’emport et fournis par des sources canadiennes. En cas de disparité, ce seront les informations mentionnées dans les publications officielles qui prévaudront.

Couches et données

Cette carte est composée des services suivants. La disponibilité des couches et des données est limitée aux interfaces disponibles prises en charge. Veuillez consulter notre page Services de cartographie web pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon d'utiliser les interfaces prises en charge.
Nom du service Interfaces prises en charge aide
Guide_de_planification_de_navigation_en_Arctique_FRA WMS WFS JSON KML

Si vous avez besoin d'aide concernant la présente page Web, veuillez écrire à l'adresse suivante : isdm-gdsi@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.